How to Delete and Deactivate Facebook Account

0
154

A lot of people see reasons to leave Facebook everyday. Just recently, Facebook was in the news for a data breach. This has made the searches on how to delete Facebook account to spike up recently. In this article, you will learn how to deactivate your Facebook account and how to delete it permanently.
delete facebook account

Difference Between Deleting and Deactivating Facebook Account

There are two different things here; deactivating and deleting the account. They are two different things entirely.

Deactivating a Facebook Account

Deactivating your Facebook account allows you to leave Facebook for a while and come back whenever you want. Your information and other thins are still on Facebook. In fact, messages you have sent would still be available to the receiver. When you deactivate your Facebook account, nobody would be able to view your timeline, tag you,message you or view your photos. The reason behind this may be, you just want to take a break, study, travel e.t.c.

You can reactivate your account by just logging into the account. Everything would be in tact exactly as you left them. Your Facebook friends, photos, messages would still be available.

Deleting a Facebook Account

Deleting a Facebook account means you want to permanently delete everything. Your messages, pictures, videos would be gone. Nobody would be able to view your profile or send you messages. Your data would be completely removed from the Facebook platform.

How To Deactivate Facebook Account

  1. Login to your Facebook account.
  2. Click on the drop down button at the top of the page to access the Facebook settings page.
  3. While on the settings page, click “Manage Account”.
  4. Click on the deactivate account button. You can also download your data before deactivating your account.
  5. Facebook will ask for reasons why you want to deactivate your account. Tick any of the options available.
  6. Scroll down and click on “Deactivate”.

 

deactivate facebook account

If you want to re-activate your account, all you need to do is to login to the Facebook account.

How to Permanently Delete Facebook Account

Facebook has made the account deletion link so uneasy to find. We have made it easy; you can go straight to the Facebook account delete page here.

Note that; you should transfer any of your Facebook pages to another admin before deleting the page.

  1. Login to your Facebook account.
  2. Click on the arrow down button, scroll down and click on “Settings”.
  3. Click on “Support Inbox”.
  4. In the search box provided, search for “permanently delete my account”.
  5. Open the first result.
  6. Read the short article and click on the “let us know link”. The link will take you to the Facebook account delete page.
  7. Enter your password and the captcha code provided.
  8. Click the Ok button to completely delete your Facebook account.

delete facebook account

Please note that once you have permanently deleted your Facebook account, it can not be recovered again. If you would like to access Facebook again, you have to create a new account. However, you can use the same email address.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.